Eastern Region Alliance


ERA Logo The Eastern Region Alliance (ERA) is a voluntary regional association of eastern metropolitan Councils. The Member Councils are City of Burnside, City of Campbelltown, City of Norwood Payneham St Peters, City of Prospect, City of Tea Tree Gully, City of Unley, and Town of Walkerville. These Councils have executed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) to form ERA.

The magnificent eastern suburbs of Adelaide are areas of high-quality residential amenity, with proud communities that expect high standard facilities and services, and share interests in many issues including quality public transport, youth, and environmental sustainability.


ERA was formed on 5 November 2008.   ERA existed in earlier days as Metropolitan Eastern Region Organisation (MERO), and later as Office of the East (OOTE).   Our Councils in various combinations have a history of successful cross-border partnerships, resource sharing, co-operation and alliances.   Existing areas of mutually beneficial joint-effort include waste management, environmental health, immunisation, purchasing, regional rates administration, emergency management planning, regional grants officer, and collective advocacy efforts.


ERA represents a large and important part of the Adelaide Metropolitan Area:

 Council  Population (30/06/07)  Area (HA.)  Total Operating Expenditure $M (30/06/07)
 Burnside  43,674  2,741  28,217
 Campbelltown  47,527  2,428  26,148
 Norwood Payneham & St Peters  34,865  1,512  27,234
 Prospect  19,814  778  14,079
 Tea Tree Gully  99,327  9,507  56,844
 Unley  37,305  1,437  28,831
 Walkerville  7,202  356  5,445
 TOTAL  289,714  18,759  186,798

Eastern Region Alliance - Additional Information

The following documents are available for download in PDF format:

ERA Annual Report 2013(975 kb)
ERA Business Plan ERA%20Business%20Plan (207 kb)
ERA Planning Reforms Response ERA%20Planning%20Reforms%20Response (54 kb)

Contact Details

Address: PO Box 1, Campbelltown, SA 5074
Telephone: 8366 9239
Fascimile: 8337 3818
Click here to send an email.

PO Box 1, Campbelltown SA 5074 | 172 Montacute Rd, Rostrevor SA 5073
(08) 8366 9222|| ABN 37 379 133 969
ERACampbelltown Made South Australia
Font SizeDecrease font size Reset font size Increase font size